## **CTAHR Faculty Senate Minutes**

May 13 meeting, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m. Gilmore 212 and online *via* Lync

- I. Introduction of selves
- II. Approval of minutes

Janette (?) moved to accept minutes; Daniel seconded Passed unanimously

### III. Leadership report

### Dean Gallo

A. College review

Final draft will be sent to OVCAA after graduation

Then will send out report for formal response from CTAHR

B. Selection of Assoc. Dean for Extension

Waiting for Search committee to submit their recommendation

## **Charly Kinoshita**

A. College review

We are expected to respond to report after 30 days

At minimum, we must address major college issues

- B. New Faculty orientation is on Aug. 18
- C. Better articulation between Community Colleges (CC) & 4-year institutions for more seamless transfer

He sent out 2-year programs for CC

He needs feedback from units in biological programs

Want to allow migration between 2 & 4-year programs without students losing credits

D. eCAFE

Encourage all faculty to set up eCAFE feedback

Complaints by students about lack of opportunity to provide feedback

Otherwise Charly Kinoshita needs to consult with students to get feedback

E. Call for volunteers in UHM Commencement procession

## Ken Grace – invited to address progress of CTAHR Germplasm Distribution Policy

A. Good news! State Legislature approved 1yr of funding for 4 extension agents (1 on each island)

Farm Bureau & Farmer's Union were very supportive

Final version of bill didn't name positions

Ken thinks that CTAHR should provide funding for 2<sup>nd</sup> year; to help to recruitment for positions

B. Supplemental funds

Provide more transparency – What are priorities? How do they evaluate?

Submissions were lower this year; maybe due to more projects funded last year?

C. New draft of Germplasm Distribution Policy

Taken a long time but progress is being made

Use examples from Univ. Florida & Auburn Univ. (smaller; may be more relevant)

Addresses technical considerations, such as is this a valid plant variety?

Set up faculty committee to evaluate? Do we have sufficient, qualified faculty?

Got feed-back from General Counsel; don't have in-house legal service

Can we find industry association to do licensing? What happens if cannot find a unified group?

Draft policy is being reviewed by Ken & Maria & OTTED

Licensing policy is a complex, separate issue

Complicated by shift of director & people at OTTED; intend to focus on patentable intellectual property

But lot of varieties are not patentable

<u>Daniel</u>: Research committee should continue following-through next year.

Ashley Stokes – sent report. Accepted position at Fort Collins, CO.

- A. POW is due May 11
- B. Thank you to Ken Grace for his leadership in State Legislature
- C. Thank you to colleagues with whom she has worked

<u>Donna Ching</u> – invited to address CTAHR Strategic Planning

A. On vacation

## IV. Report on ACCFSC

#### **Daniel Jenkins**

Sent out email for comments re: proposed system-wide, standardized course evaluations Evaluation of online labs

Symbolic reasoning requirements (probably not particularly relevant to CTAHR)

Faculty involvement with 360 review; concerns that faculty are not adequately consulted Other issues – appropriate faculty & staff not consulted for administrator evaluation

### V. Report on Manoa Faculty Senate

Maria Stewart – Dan reported for her

Maria Stewart volunteered to liaison with Manoa Faculty Senate

CTAHR Faculty Senate's Resolution on Extension Agent Tenure & promotion; Resolution to allow Extension agents exemption from need for taking advanced credit courses, particularly if off-island

Thank Dr. Robert Paull for his assistance

Manoa Faculty Senate passed Resolution in support of CTAHR Faculty Senate's Resolution on May 6

Reed Dasenbrock will send back with comments; work with Personnel committee; work with Dean Gallo

VI. Committee Year End Reports – written reports to be submitted to Secretary Susan Miyasaka (miyasaka@hawaii.edu)

Rajesh - Elections

Completed elections; haven't filled all positions

FCS – couldn't get nominations; no responses

## <u>Brent Sipes - Personnel</u> (not present)

Dan thanked Brent for Resolution on Extension Agent Tenure & promotion Resolution

### Mike Melzer - Research

Thank people who served on Research committee

# Maria Stewart - Instruction (not present)

#### Extension – liaison is gone

No response from committee members

#### Chair - Dan

Thanked everyone for guidance & support Appreciation for hard work Important issues resolved

### VII. Continuing business to roll into next year

A. CTAHR Germplasm policy – needs to continue next year
Mike Melzer – liaison with Research Committee
Suggests tabling Germplasm policy until we get something from Ken Grace

- B. Faculty Mentoring Action Committee overlaps w/Strategic Planning committee
- VII. New items of business for next year
  - A. Maria Stewart Focus requirements

Writing Intensive (WI) & Oral communications courses

Individual progams don't have adequate number of Focus classes that meet WI/ Oral communications within degree programs

Lecturers taught classes that used to be WI; but designation goes w/Instructor & not course

Often a non-tenured person is hired day before courses start; WI designation should go w/course & not Instructor

Need curriculum committee in each dept. to get involved

B. <u>Loren Gautz</u> - CTAHR scholarships not being used? Instruction committee should investigate

## VIII. Excuse out-going Senators

Rajesh thanked out-going Senators for their service

IX. Election of new SEC members (to replace outgoing members) from the pool of Senators for 2015-2016

### **CTAHR Faculty Senate Minutes**

May 13 2015, 5:00 – 5:30 p.m. Gilmore 212 and online *via* Lync

The meeting continued with new and continuing senators, after excusing senators with expiring terms and thanking them for their contributions.

As Vice-chair of the outgoing SEC and continuing senator, Rajesh Jha convened the meeting of the new senate.

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) requires 7 members of which 2 were continuing members:

- 1. Rajesh Jha (HNFAS)- continuing SEC member
- 2. Maria Stewart (HNFAS)- continuing SEC member

Another 5 members were elected by senators unanimously for new SEC (2015-16).

- 1. Brent Sipes (PEPS)
- 2. Kent Kobayasi (TPSS)
- 3. Koon-Hui Wang (PEPS)
- 4. Janice Uchida (PEPS)
- 5. James Leary (NREM)

The newly elected SEC members will meet among themselves to partition the duties on the SEC for the following positions:

- 1. Chair
- 2. Secretary
- + Liaisons for following Committees:
- 3. Elections
- 4. Research
- 5. Instruction
- 6. Extension, and
- 7. Personnel
- \*One of the Committee Liaison officers will also serve as Vice-chair.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:30 pm.