Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff Directory

Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Kimberly Carlson

human dimensions of agroecosystems & natural resources

Sherman 130

(808) 956-2617

kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu

Catherine Chan, Department Chair

agricultural marketing, economic development,

environmental management

Sherman 104

Sherman 224

(808) 956-7530

(808) 956-2626

chanhalb@hawaii.edu

Linda J. Cox

community economic development

Sherman 233C

(808) 956-7602

lcox@hawaii.edu

Susan E. Crow

assistant professor, soil ecology & biogeochemistry

Sherman 132

(808) 956-8149

crows@hawaii.edu

Samir A. El-Swaify (Emeritus)

natural resource degradation, erosion, conservation, water quality

Sherman 226

(808) 956-8857

elswaify@hawaii.edu

Carl I. Evensen (currently unavailable as advisor)

Interim Director/Lyon Arboretum

natural resource management, environmental quality

Sherman 227

Lyon (808) 988-0457

evensen@hawaii.edu

J. B. Friday

tropical forestry & agroforestry extension

Komohana Research & Ext. Center

(808) 969-8254

jbfriday@hawaii.edu

Peter Garrod

ag economics, research methods, sampling, transportation, statistics, Hawaii & intl ag

Sherman 127

(808) 956-8128

garrod@hawaii.edu

Chennat Gopalakrishnan (Emeritus)

natural resource and environmental economics and policy

Sherman 232

(808) 956-7497

chennat@hawaii.edu

Travis Idol, Undergraduate Chair

tropical forestry and agroforestry

Sherman 125

(808) 956-7508

idol@hawaii.edu

James Leary

invasive weed management

Maui Agricultural Research Center

(808) 352-8774 (cell)

learyj@hawaii.edu

PingSun Leung

aquaculture & fisheries economics, regional economics, systems modeling

Gilmore 111

(808) 956-8562

psleung@hawaii.edu

Creighton Litton

forest ecosystem ecology and biogeochemistry

Sherman 240

(808) 956-6004

litton@hawaii.edu

Louise Lo

Lecturer

AEI 106

(808) 956-6702

llo@hawaii.edu

Matthew Loke

visiting colleague

AEI 104

(808) 956-7312

loke@hawaii.edu

Tomoaki Miura, Graduate Committee Chair

natural resource inventory, remote sensing, GIS

Sherman 237

(808) 956-7333

tomoakim@hawaii.edu

Steve Y. Nagano

4-H youth program, county extension agent

Pearl City Ext. Office

(808) 453-6054

snagano@hawaii.edu

Kirsten Oleson

ecological economics

Sherman 109

(808) 956-8864

koleson@hawaii.edu

Melissa Price

behavioral ecology & conservation genetics

Sherman 107

(808) 956-7774

pricemel@hawaii.edu

Rebecca Ryals

agricultural ecosystem ecology

Sherman 118

(808) 956-8723

ryals@hawaii.edu

Paul Selmants

junior researcher

Inst of Pacific Islands Forestry

(808) 933-8121 ext 157

selmants@hawaii.edu

Clay Trauernicht
wildland fire management

Sherman 239

(808) 956-6875

trauerni@hawaii.edu

Yin-Phan Tsang
ecohydrology

Sherman 243

(808) 956-6361
tsangy@hawaii.edu

Mehana Vaughan

eco-cultural restoration, community based management, environmental (ʻāina based) education

Sherman 226

(808) 956-8901

mehana@hawaii.edu

Adel Youkhana

junior researcher

Sherman 123

HC&S, Office 10, Kahului, Maui

(808) 683-6260 cell

adel@hawaii.edu

 

Cooperating and Affiliate Graduate Faculty

Program Support Staff

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Jody Smith

education specialist, master gardener & renewable resources extension

Ag Sci 402A

(808) 956-7711

smithjos@hawaii.edu

Corie Yanger

rapid ʻōhiʻa death (ROD)

Komohana Research & Ext. Center

(808) 969-8268

cmyanger@hawaii.edu

NREM Office Staff

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Position Vacant

academic support

Sherman 101

(808) 956-7530

John Matassa

accounting officer

Sherman 101

(808) 956-2040

matassa@hawaii.edu

Norene Tanaka

secretary

Sherman 101

(808) 956-2150

nctanaka@hawaii.edu